Bureau of Indian Affairs Releases New ICWA Guidelines

In late February, the Bureau of Indian Affairs announced the release of Guidelines for State Courts and Agencies in Indian Child Custody Proceedings. These guidelines are the first update related to the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) since 1979. The National Indian Child Welfare Association is excited about the release and states, “We think this will provide clarity on many important areas of ICWA’s application, and we want to thank the Administration for their hard work and dedication to Native children and families. It is our hope that this is just one of many efforts to strengthen ICWA implementation in the next couple of years.”

NICWA  is offering a free webinar on Friday, March 13 at 10 am pacific time (11 am mountain, noon central, 1 pm eastern).

Access the guidelines

Register for the NICWA webinar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s